Vanilla Bean Tart

20 Nov

It’s just a fantastic feeling when you wake up in the morning and not have to think about going to work, especially when it’s not the weekend.  I thought I would treat myself today by taking a day off, just to you know, relax, take a leisurely walk, spend some time in the kitchen and of course update my blog.

Well, since I knew I wouldn’t have to work today, yesterday evening I baked up this Vanilla Bean Tart that I found on a new blog that I just fell in love with Broxholm Road.  The recipe was rather simple to follow, aside from the differences in measurements (thank you Mom for giving me my  very own scale).  Let me tell you the best thing about this tart is the unbelievable amazing scent coming from the oven when it’s baking.  I tell you it’s like nothing you have experienced before, if I closed my eyes I would have thought that I was standing in a Parisian Patteserie…yeah that good!

These are the type of simple desserts that I enjoy, plain but with a burst of flavour.  As I mentioned, the recipe is pretty simple to follow, my only word of warning is be gentle when handling the dough.  It’s even more finicky than pie dough, so work fast and make sure your work surface is well floured.

There are a few things that I did different, while the recipe called for whole milk I only had 1%.  I must admit, I was a little worried that my custard wouldn’t thicken, but it did.  By using 1% all I may have compromised is some of the richness in the taste, but to be honest who would really notice. The recipe also called for lemon rind in the dough, now this was just a personal preference on my part, I just felt that the lemon taste in the dough would take away for the vanilla custard, again just a personal preference. Although, if I make this again I may very well but a dash of Rum or Bourbon in the custard for a little extra punch.  And lastly for both the custard and the dough I used regular granulated sugar, and it worked out fine.

Adapted from:

Broxholm Road Food Blog

Sweet Pastry Dough

200g AP flour

100g Cold Butter, cubed

50g Sugar

2 Large egg yolks

2 TBSP ice-cold water

Pinch of salt

Vanilla Pastry Cream

250g Whole milk

70 Sugar,

Half vanilla pod

2  Large egg yolks

40g AP flour, sifted

Vanilla Pastry Cream

First, prepare the Vanilla Pastry Cream.  In a heavy bottomed pot on a low heat, bring the milk and half the vanilla bean to a gentle boil.  Remove from heat and cool the vanilla infused milk.  Remove the vanilla bean, scrape the seeds, and put back into the milk.

In a separate bowl whisk together the 2 egg yolks and sugar until well combined.  Slowly while still whisking, sift the flour into the mixture.  Continue to whisk until well combined. Then in a slow stream add the milk mixture, again keep whisking until well incorporated.  Return the mixture to a clean pot and with a wooden spoon stir over low heat until it starts to thicken.  Switch over to a whisk and whisk until there the custard has a smooth texture.  Take off heat and place in a small bowl, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate.

Sweet Pastry Dough

In a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment (or in a food processor), blend the flour and butter.  Add in the egg yolks one at a time, and then add in the sugar until well blended.  If the dough isn’t coming together add in some cold ice water, just enough so that the dough forms into a ball.  If too much water goes in simply, add some more flour.  Wrap dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.

Roll out the dough and place in an 8 or 9-inch tart pan with a removable bottom.  Trim off the extra dough at the edges, this will be used for the lattice decoration.  Spread the Vanilla custard over the tart pan, smoothing it out with a small offset spatula.  Roll out the extra dough into strips and lay over the cream to form a lattice.

Please in a preheated oven at 350 and bake for 35-40 minutes, or until pastry is lightly golden.

Bring to room temperature before serving or serve cold.

Buon Appetito!

14 Responses to “Vanilla Bean Tart”

  1. Simona November 20, 2009 at 5:08 PM #

    Wow, this looks so decadent. I never thought of using a custard as a base for a tart.

    • asprea November 20, 2009 at 5:51 PM #

      Thanks Simona, it is really delicious!

  2. Natasha - 5 Star Foodie November 20, 2009 at 10:33 PM #

    Wow, this is the prettiest sweet tart ever! I love it!

    • asprea November 22, 2009 at 12:27 PM #

      Thanks Natasha!

  3. Laura November 21, 2009 at 3:35 AM #

    It looks great! I am glad you liked the recipe 🙂

    • asprea November 22, 2009 at 12:26 PM #

      Mille Grazie Laura! My husband devoured about half the tart when he got home, I would say it was a success!

  4. Lucy November 22, 2009 at 5:35 PM #

    This tart is so beautiful – I can imagine it smells so gorgeous! Looks so delicious 🙂

  5. Alisa@Foodista November 24, 2009 at 10:59 AM #

    It looks awesome! I’m bookmarking this recipe and add this on my next baking project! I came across your site from the foodieblogroll.

  6. hungry dog November 24, 2009 at 2:41 PM #

    This sounds incredible. Looks like you did a great job with the crust! Great photos.

  7. lisamichele November 29, 2009 at 5:18 AM #

    Ok..I came to check out your amazing cannoli, but it;’ not up yet and I fell in LOVE with this tart! I’m a vanilla gal to the core, so this is bookmarked and ready to bake within a week! Beautiful natural light photos too. What I would give for natural light *sigh*

  8. asprea November 29, 2009 at 7:02 PM #

    Thanks Lisa for the great challenge this past month, I really enjoyed making the cannoli!
    You will love this tart, and it’s so simple to make too.
    I know what you mean about the natural light, as much as possible I try to bake during the weekend during the day. When I get home from work on the weeknight it’s already dark….so I know where you’re coming from LOL.

  9. Holly November 30, 2009 at 10:04 PM #

    This looks awesome! I’m going to have to make it! Thanks for sharing.

  10. Burt Clapp August 30, 2010 at 4:36 AM #

    Discovered your site via msn the other day and absolutely adore it. Keep up the truly amazing work.

  11. Allyson N. Jason April 11, 2011 at 11:29 PM #

    This tart looks –incredibly- good. I must make this at some point.

    Beautiful photos, and thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

