It’s almost the weekend…

2 Oct

Stacked pancakes by you.

I almost consider Friday part of the weekend.  It’s the Eve before the official weekend starts, and doesn’t everyone celebrate Eve’s…there’s Christmas Eve, New Years Eve…and that’s about it.  Come to think of it we should definitely have more Eve’s or we can just make them up like I do.  This post is in honour of Saturday Eve.

There’s nothing I look forward to more than sleeping in on Saturday mornings.  I get up around 5:30AM everyday to go to work and so the thought of sleeping in until 8:30AM is bliss.  Anthony and I have a Saturday morning routine, I make pancakes.  It’s just an unspoken thing between us that has developed over our 8 years of marriage (yikes!).

I`ve been using the same simple recipe for years, so many years that I don`t even remember where I got it from.  It`s a standard pancake batter, nothing special.  On special occasions when Anthony makes pancakes he goes all out, buttermilk, separating the eggs….that`s another post all together, but his pancakes are pretty darn yummy.

I thought I would also post a picture of our Saturday morning set-up, nothing fancy.  You`ll notice there`s a big plate (that`s Anthonys) and a smaller plate (that`s mine).  Can I tell you a secret ?  I actually prefer my pancakes with jam rather than maple syrup, GASP, I know, I know I hear it all the time.

Happy Friday everyone and here`s to the weekend. More posts to come next week, I promise!! 🙂

Our Saturday morning set-up, notice my little plate ;)

Pancake Recipe

1 Cup flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 TBSP sugar

¼ tsp salt

1 Cup milk

1 Egg

1 ½ TBSP oil (I use sunflower)

Directions

In a medium bowl mix dry ingredients together and make a well in the centre.  In a separate bowl, mix all the wet ingredients until well blended.  Pour the wet ingredients into the dry and mix with a wooden spoon until incorporated.

You will notice that the batter is lumpy, that’s all right just make sure there are no lumps of flour left.  The batter will not look smooth, so don’t panic!

Heat your non-stick lightly greased skillet on medium.  Using about ¼ Cup of batter pour on to skillet, I use an ice-cream scooper, it makes this task oh so much easier.  Depending on the size of your skillet you should be able to fit about 4 pancakes at once.

When the sides begin to bubble slip and continue cooking on other side.

Buon Appetito!

3 Responses to “It’s almost the weekend…”

  1. Sonia October 2, 2009 at 11:51 AM #

    I love Friday, but I love Saturdays even more! Are you going to post the pancake recipe, I would love to have it.
    Also, have a great Saturday Eve, LOL

    • asprea October 3, 2009 at 12:07 PM #

      Hey Sonia, I’ve added the recipe. Like I said it’s very simple. The above recipe is enough for two people with moderate appetite or one really hungry person LOL. Have a great weekend!

  2. wwweddingcupcakery March 28, 2011 at 9:30 PM #

    Jam with the pancakes, I’m with you on that one!

Leave a Reply

