Apple Pie

8 May

img_1719

I love all things pie, but I never really ventured into the land of pie making until this year…especially Apple Pie. I have only ever made two types of Pie in the past, either Lemon Meringue or Cherry Pie.  We have a cherry tree in our front yard that boasts the most perfect and sweet cherries imaginable.  So it’s only natural that I make Cherry Pie, which has become one of my favourites.

But for some reason I had never before attempted to make Apple Pie until this year when my husband (Anthony) requested it. I was always worried about making a double crust pie, and I am partial to butter crusts so I wasn’t too sure how an Apple Pie would turn out.  I used my basic pie recipe (recipe to follow) and really don’t follow a recipe for the filling.  I do always use Granny Smith apples; I prefer their firm texture and keep its shape nicely when baking.  Granny Smith do tend to me more tart, so I do add a little extra sugar.  Another trick that I picked up is to scatter some bread crumbs on the bottom crust before putting in the filling; this will prevent a soggy crust.

I made this particular pie posted here for a dinner party, and it was a huge success!

Recipe to follow after the jump 🙂

Apple Pie

Pie Crust
2 ½ cups of flour
1 cup butter cold (2 sticks)
1 tsp salt
1 tsp sugar
4-6 TBSP ice water

Directions
Cube butter and place in the freezer for at least 10 minutes
Combine flour, salt and sugar in a food processor
Add butter and pulse 6-8 times until it resembles coarse crumbs
Add 1TBSP of water at a time and pulse, until dough is combined together
Take out of the food processor, if the dough seems too stick knead in some more flour but be careful not to overwork the dough
Shape into two equal discs, wrap and place in fridge for at least an hour

Pie Filling
5-6 cooking apples, such as Granny Smith (they hold their shape nicely when baking
¼ cup of sugar (you can use brown or granulated)
3 TBSP of flour
Dash of salt
1 tsp of cinnamon (this can vary depending on how cinnamon flavor you like)
2 TBSP cold butter cubed
1 TBSP bread crumbs
2 TBSP milk or cream

Directions
Peel , core , slice apples & place in a bowl
Add sugar, flour, salt and cinnamon to apples and toss
Roll out pie crust and  place first crust in a 9inch pie plate
Sprinkle the bread crumbs on the pie crust and spoon in the apple mixture including all its juices
Place the cubed butter in-between the apples
Roll second piecrust and place on top of the apple filling.  Gently create a seam with the pie crust
Make 4 small holes on the top crust, this will allow the steam to escape during baking
Brush the milk or cream across the crust
Bake in middle oven rack at 425 for 45-50 minutes

IMG_1706IMG_1697IMG_1711

IMG_1714

3 Responses to “Apple Pie”

  1. Mary May 9, 2009 at 7:20 PM #

    I have some Granny Smith Apples sitting on my counter, I think I will give this recipe a try. Looks delicious!

  2. luckyturquoise January 8, 2012 at 7:09 PM #

    This is the best pie crust recipe on the planet!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m back, with Pie! « Adventures in Baking - January 3, 2010

    […] pie crust is my tried and true recipe that can be found in my Apple Pie post, just half the recipe ingredients for a 1 9-inch pie crust.  Or you can make the double batch […]

Leave a Reply

