Lenox Almond Biscotti

29 Apr

 img_1702

It’s been some time now that I have become obsessed with baking…I find it very therapeutic.  And to be totally honest I usually have only a bite of whatever it I bake, mostly because I don’t really have much of a sweet tooth.  Don’t get me wrong, I love chocolate cake as much as the next 30something year old gal….but most often then not I’ll tend to reach for a bag of Doritos instead.

OK, I’m getting a little off track here, yes back to baking.  I find most of my recipes on-line, and that’s when I discovered Dorie Greenspan and wondered where she has been all my life.  I tried a few recipes of hers and loved them, they are so easy to follow and the result is always a winner.  I finally decided to purchase Dorie’s book; Baking: From my Home to Yours . When the book arrived I couldn’t wait to start baking and it was at that time that I also thought that it would be a great idea to start a Blog.I hadn’t made biscotti in a while, well quite honestly I was a little afraid of biscotti…they just seemed to be a lot of work.  This recipe jumped out at me, it had two ingredients that I loved, Almonds & Corn (really cornmeal).  I was a little worried about using cornmeal as it tends to be grainy and thought it would throw off the texture of the biscotti.  Also, I only had whole almonds so I went out and bought slivered almonds, which I think took away from the biscotti since they were barely visible as you can see in the picture.

All in all I was content with the recipe.  My husband suggested that maybe next time I add some cranberries to the recipe for extra flavour..which I may very well do.  I brought some into work the next day and wasn’t sure if they would be a hit or not especially when I told people the biscotti had cornmeal in them…….well they were polished off within an hour.

I can’t wait for more adventure’s with Dorie & I will be sure to share them.

img_1664img_1680img_16841

2 Responses to “Lenox Almond Biscotti”

  1. asprea April 29, 2009 at 4:47 PM #

    Welcome!

  2. Allison May 6, 2009 at 4:19 PM #

    These look great, I have seen them in Dorie’s book and now I will be sure to give them a try!

Leave a Reply

